20 years Leo Smit Foundation

After five friendly seasons in Bethaniënklooster the Uilenburg Concert series returns in October 2015 to the Nieuwe Uilenburgerstraat. This season our venue is Splendor, just across the way from the Uilenburg Synagogue.


Monday 12 October 2015 - 8.15 pm

La Mort

Johanna Bordewijk, 1944
WORKS BY Johanna Bordewijk-Roepman, Leo Smit, Rita Hijmans, Darius Milhaud and Bernhard van den Sigtenhorst Meyer.

Leo Smit wrote La Mort in 1938, shortly after the death of his mother. It is based on poems by Baudelaire. Five years later he himself died in Sobibor. Johanna Bordewijk refused to become a member of the Kultuurkamer (Chamber of Culture) and her music was banned. Nevertheless she composed the impressive Sonate 1943, a work that expresses the anxiety and despair of the war. There will be a performance of a new work by Rita Hijmans.

Irene Maessen - soprano
José Scholte - mezzosoprano
Eleonore Pameijer - flute
Marcel Worms - piano


Monday 16 November - 8.15 pm


Leo Smit
WORKS BY Leo Smit, Dick Kattenburg, Hans Gál, Olivier Messiaen and Bela Bartók

The Trio Marie won the Leo Smit Award at the Festival of Forbidden Music in Germany for their outstanding interpretation of the trio by Hans Gal. In Amsterdam they are going to perform Bartok’s Contrasts and the Trio for Clarinet, Viola and Piano by Leo Smit. Two months after Kattenburg completed the first movement of his Sonata for Viola and Piano he was arrested and deported to Auschwitz.

Trio Marie:
Magdalena Faust - clarinet
Ludwig Schulze - violin / viola
Joong Hyeok Choi - piano


Monday 14 December 2015 - 8.15 pm


Dick Kattenburg (zelfportret)
WORKS BY Leo Smit, Dick Kattenburg, Konrad Boehmer and Rokus de Groot

The young piano duo Wang-Mai from Germany won the Leo Smit Award with their moving interpretation of Smit’s Divertimento and Kattenburg’s Flirtations. Tonight, at the invitation of Vrienden Nederlandse Muziek (Friends of Dutch Music) and the Leo Smit Foundation they make their international debut, with works by persecuted composers. Eleonore Pameijer plays contemporary Dutch music by Konrad Boehmer and Rokus de Groot.

Yumeng Wang & Jianyin Mai - on four-handed piano


Monday 15 February 2016 - 8.15 pm

Songs of the clown

Mario Castelnuovo Tedesco
WORKS BY James Simon, Pavel Haas, Mario Castelnuovo Tedesco, Vítezslava Kaprálová, Hans Gál, Joost Kleppe and Erich Korngold

James Simon was teaching at the Berlin Conservatory when he fled on 11 October 1933 to Amsterdam with his wife and two children. Eleven years later he was eliminated in Auschwitz. In a very roundabout way his music eventually reached he United States Holocaust Memorial Museum. The Czeck composer Vítezslava Kaprálová died suddenly at the age of 25. Her Waving farewell was premiered by no other than Rafael Kubelík. You can also hear contemporary music by Joost Kleppe.

Robbert Muuse - baritone
Micha van Weers - piano


Monday 14 March 2016 - 7.30 pm


Vsevolod Zaderatsky
WORKS BY Vsevolod Zaderatsky

For most of his life Zaderatsky was banned from publishing his music. A large part of his oeuvre was destroyed. His cycle of 24 Preludes and Fugues for Piano was composed when he was imprisoned in the gulag, under the harshest of conditions. He wrote his music on blank telegram paper in pencil with no corrections: it had to be right the first time. Pianist Jascha Nemtsov plays this master work in its entirety, a very special expression of the victory of human creativity over inhuman oppression.

Jascha Nemtsov - piano


Monday 11 april 2016 - 8.15 pm

In memoriam

Paul Hermann
WORKS BY Mieczyslaw Weinberg, Houwert Krauss, Paul Hermann and Darius Milhaud

The life of the Dutch composer Houwert Krauss came to a sudden and unexpected end on 5 February 2015. His Violin Sonata remains in his memory. Paul Hermann died in 1944 under unknown circumstances in Central Europe. He was being deported by the nazis and never returned. His Piano Trio is now being heard for the first time. The Fünf Stücke (Five Pieces) for flute and piano by Weinberg have been re-edited by Schott. Eleonore Pameijer gives the first performance of the new edition at this concert.

Jacques Thibaud Ensemble:
Eleonore Pameijer - flute
Burkhard Maiss - violin
Bogdan Jianu - cello
Andrei Banciu - piano


Our new concert venue: Splendor, Nieuwe Uilenburgerstraat 116, Amsterdam

Marcel Worms, Irene Maessen en Eleonore Pameijer

Irene Maessen, José Scholte (photo below), Eleonore Pameijer and Marcel Worms will open the nineteenth season of Uilenburg Concerts. The photo of Marcel, Irene and Eleonore is by Pieter Boersma.

José Scholte

Trio Marie

The Trio Marie will be playing Leo Smit’s Trio for Clarinet, Viola and Piano. In 2014 the Trio Marie won the Leo Smit Award, funded by Vrienden van de Nederlandse Muziek (Friends of Dutch Music).

Yumeng Wang en Jianyin Mai

The piano duo Yumeng Wang and Jianyin Mai also won the Leo Smit Award during the international Festival of Forbidden Music in Schwerin. They played four handed piano works by Leo Smit and Dick Kattenburg.

Robbert Muuse en Micha van Weers

Micha van Weers and Robbert Muuse put together a special programme of songs from the inter war years.

Jascha Nemtsov

Jascha Nemtsov plays the 24 Preludes and Fugues byVselovod Zaderatsky in their entirety on 14 March 2016.

Jacques Thibaud Ensemble

The Jacques Thibaud Ensemble from Berlin closes the season on 11 April 2016 with a premiere of Paul Hermann’s Piano Trio.

Uilenburger Concerten op reis
Uilenburger Concerts